What can you do on a rainy day?

Today is a rainy day and it reminded me of a song, “What can you do on a rainy day, what can you do when you can’t go out and play?

This brought to mind two games that I have played with my Great Grandchild age five and up. The first one is called Spot It and the age group says 7 to Adult. I have found my great granddaughter Chloe did not have any problems playing and just loved it. It is amazing how each card has one symbol that matches the display card. This game keeps children and adults entertained for hours.  I have to say I wasn’t letting the younger ones win I simply overlooked my one and only item.

The other game we played is Rory’s Story Cubes.  You roll the dice and it has a picture of an alien, fire and several other items. Your imagination gets to soar as each player adds to the story depending on what their dice is. We had so many funny story’s come out of this game. It also helps adults who find themselves in an unimaginative slump.

When writing you depend on your imagination and sometimes I find the best thing for me is listening to children.  I love their natural creativity and how they are not yet bound by the law of physics or any other restrictions.

I hope you find this information useful and remember it is never a waste of time playing a game with children.  It wasn’t that long ago I made time for a little neighbor girl and played candyland.  The little girl is now a woman and surprised me one day and stopped to tell me how special that was to her that I took the time. How special is that?

3 thoughts on “What can you do on a rainy day?

  1. Thanks for this great post. We have had so many rainy days lately. Rory’s story cubes sound awesome fun, we will have to get ourselves a set. Thanks so much for joining us on the Kid Lit Blog Hop

  2. We LOVE story cubes – our family plays and we are usually laughing so hard there are tears streaming from our eyes! Thanks for sharing in the Kid Lit Blog Hop!

Leave a Reply

